Divine Pork, red wine, mushrooms & mustard sauce

 

Divine red wine silky sauce that coats the pork is truly scrummy.  New Video and step by step instructions included in the blog, this is very easy to do and cooks in the pan in under 25 minutes.  Using low fat crème fraiche this dish is just gorgeous, without it being too heavy on the fat content.

I am making this recipe today to batch freeze it as part of my new frozen food enterprise.  Orders are placed, I just hope my new customers enjoy it as much as we do!

Video at the bottom of this recipe ⇓

INGREDIENTS              SERVES  4

  • 1 x 500 grams of pork fillet
  • Few sprigs of thyme
  • 1 red onion, finely sliced
  • 4 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • 100 ml or red wine
  • 1 tbsp. of wholegrain mustard
  • 250 grams of sliced mushrooms
  • 250 ml of hot stock (chicken or vegetable)
  • 3 tbsp. of reduced fat crème fraiche
  • Salt and pepper
  • Drizzle of oil or low calorie oil

 

Cooking on the hob!

Using a large frying pan heat it up, spray oil and add the onion and garlic, place on a medium heat to brown and soften.

 

Whilst the onion is softening cut up the pork fillet into approximately 1 cm slices.  Trim any excess fat off the fillet and then season with salt, pepper and thyme leaves.

Once the onions have softened, place the pork slices in turning them after a few minutes on each side until golden.  Once both sides are cooked, lift out the pork and place onto a plate to rest.

Now add the red wine to the onions and the mushrooms, stirring well until the red wine has been adsorbed.  Next add the chicken stock let it simmer down for a few minutes until it thickens. Dollop the crème fraiche in, stir well, check the taste to see if it needs any more seasoning.  Put the pork back into the pan and coat them well with the juices, check that the pork is cooked and hot through.

 

Serve up enjoy !

 

Emily x

 

Any questions please get in touch I would love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Divine Pork, red wine, mushrooms & mustard sauce

  1. This has me absolutely drooling! I’ve had to print it out to try when I find decent cuts of pork!!

    As an aside, and please feel free to delete or edit this post if you don’t feel it’s appropriate… I’ve nominated you for a blogging award (https://blondeonthemove.wordpress.com/2017/03/30/and-the-nominees-are/). As you will see, it’s a bit of a “group hug” but I really wanted to let you know how much I enjoy your blog.

    Hope that’s ok 🙂

    Like

    • Hi there thanks so much I’m truly flattered for the comments and awards! The recipe works just as well with chicken too, just under 2 syns per portion but so worth it I promise. I have been making this recipe for my new frozen food business and I can’t keep up with demand! It’s a bit far to deliver to you but it would be a good excuse for a holiday ! Thanks again it was lovely to read and see some of your pictures from years ago too! Know what you mean about monsoon they’ve changed their style sadly my body hasn’t to fit in them, I think I’m with you with Waitrose they are perfect for making all food look delicious 😋 ❤. Thanks again

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

